Your cart is empty.

Contact

To combat COVID-19, UPM staff are working remotely. Below you will find a full list of our employees and their roles. Please email the staff member you believe can best answer your question. If you cannot determine whom to ask, email press@ihl.state.ms.us. Retailers, if you need to place or return an order, please email Sandy Alexander or follow our guidance at ORDERING. Individuals, please order through this website. 

Administration

Craig W. Gill
Director
Areas of acquisitions: music; photography
Series: America's Third Coast; American Made Music; Heritage of Mississippi
Email: cgill@mississippi.edu

Carlton W. McGrone
Assistant to the Director
Assists the Director in all aspects of his administrative; development and fundraising; and acquisitions duties
Email: cmcgrone@mississippi.edu

Steven B. Yates
Associate Director / Marketing Director
Sales and sales approaches; special promotions; bulk purchases; author appearances; related event orders
Email: syates@mississippi.edu

Cynthia Foster
Rights and Contracts Manager
Processes incoming permissions requests; subsidiary rights licensing; customer service assistance
Email: cfoster@mississippi.edu

Seetha Srinivasan
Director Emerita

Acquisitions

All of our editors acquire in African American studies, popular culture studies, and regional studies with an emphasis on Mississippi and Louisiana. Please see the specific areas of acquisitions below to determine the best editor to approach.

Craig W. Gill
Director
Areas of acquisitions: music; photography
Series: America's Third Coast; American Made Music; Heritage of Mississippi
Email: cgill@mississippi.edu

Carlton W. McGrone
Assistant to the Director
Assists the Director in all aspects of his administrative, development, and editorial duties
Email: cmcgrone@mississippi.edu

Katie E. Keene
Senior Acquisitions Editor
Areas of acquisitions: comics studies; folklore; literary studies
Series: Banner Books; Children's Literature Association; Critical Approaches to Comics Artists; Critical Perspectives on Eudora Welty; Cultures of Childhood; Folklore Studies in a Multicultural World; Great Comics Artists
Email: kkeene@mississippi.edu

Lisa McMurtray
Associate Editor
Areas of acquisitions: biography and memoir; Caribbean studies; ethnomusicology; women's, gender, and sexuality studies
Series: Atlantic Migrations and the African Diaspora; Caribbean Studies; Margaret Walker Alexander Series in African American Studies; Willie Morris Books in Memoir and Biography
Email: lmcmurtray@mississippi.edu

Emily Snyder Bandy
Associate Editor
Areas of acquisitions: film; history; media studies; television studies
Series: Chancellor Porter L. Fortune Symposium in Southern History; Conversations with Filmmakers; Civil Rights in Mississippi; Hollywood Legends; Horror and Monstrosity Studies; Race, Rhetoric, and Media; Television Conversations
Email: ebandy@mississippi.edu

Mary Heath
Editorial Associate
Assists Katie Keene
Series: Conversations with Comic Artists; Faulkner and Yoknapatawpha; Literary Conversations
Email: mheath@mississippi.edu

Editorial

Shane Gong
Project Manager
Manages project editors; guides manuscripts through copyediting, page proofs, and indexing
Email: sgong@mississippi.edu

Valerie Jones
Project Editor
Guides manuscripts through copyediting, page proofs, and indexing; contact for freelance inquiries
Email: vjones@mississippi.edu

Laura Strong
Associate Project Editor
Guides manuscripts through copyediting, page proofs, and indexing
Email: lstrong@mississippi.edu

Marketing

Steven B. Yates
Associate Director / Marketing Director
Sales and sales approaches; special promotions; bulk purchases; author appearances; related event orders
Email: syates@mississippi.edu

Kathy Burgess
Data Services and Course Adoptions Manager
Metadata oversight, editing, and exporting; course adoption promotions
Email: kburgess@mississippi.edu

Kristin Kirkpatrick
Electronic, Exhibits, and Direct-to-Consumer Sales Manager
Website; exhibits; direct mail promotions; email promotions
Email: kkirkpatrick@mississippi.edu

Courtney McCreary
Publicity and Promotions Manager
Publicity; media contacts; review copies; interviews; advertising; social media; awards
Email: cmccreary@mississippi.edu

Jordan Nettles
Marketing Assistant and Digital Publishing Coordinator
E-book conversions; institutional e-book enrollment; miscellaneous marketing tasks  
Email: jnettles@mississippi.edu

Design and Production

Todd Lape
Production and Design Manager
Email: tlape@mississippi.edu

Pete Halverson
Senior Book Designer
Email: phalverson@mississippi.edu

Jennifer Mixon
Book Designer
Email: jmixon@mississippi.edu

Business

Tonia Lonie
Business Manager
Email: tlonie@mississippi.edu

Sandy Alexander
Customer Service and Order Supervisor
Customer service; order processing; credit memos; accounts receivable
Email: salexander@mississippi.edu